Hyperhidrosis

Hello people,

So this is something that I don’t really talk about, but I think maybe if I can reach one person it can make a difference. I think my biggest secret is that I suffer from hyperhidrosis. For those of you that don’t know what that is, it’s a condition where a person suffers from excessive random sweating. I know that doesn’t sound too bad and there are people who have it much worse, but this has affected my social life and personal relationships in a very negative way. It has kept me isolated and anxious about people finding out. The only people who know about this are my parents, I’ve gone through great lengths to hide it. Sometimes I wear sweaters in the summer, or wear layers of clothes, clothes that don’t fit, clothes I don’t like to avoid sweating through my regular clothes. This is something that happens every day. No matter the temperature or season. I hate it.

solutions

  1. iontophoresis- This is a machine that uses tap water to treat the excessive sweating. you immerse the body part affected into the water or you use soaked sponges to treat the area (hands, feet, underarms, etc). This machine uses electric currents. this is a temporary solution, it must be done every day for effective results.
  2. surgery – (Endoscopic thoracic sympathectomy) This is a permanent solution, but it is very drastic and most doctors recommend against it, unless your situation is extreme. After surgery you may experience compensatory sweating, where you may sweat from other body parts (face, stomach, legs etc)

 

As someone who has been dealing with this for at least 20 years, I’ve cried, and I’ve gone through depression, I’ve been to therapy, I’ve seen many doctors and many of them don’t know how else to treat this, or what they can do to help me, a lot of them have never even heard of this.

Surgery is expensive and not usually covered by insurance companies, my plan is to travel over seas and talk to a doctor about it, maybe I can have a normal life one day. Thats my plan for now.

I’m really just writing this for other people to understand. If you ever see anyone sweating excessively, please don’t point it our, trust me, they know. A little discretion goes a long way.

please feel free to share & comment

always ML

Leave a Reply

