My daily skincare routine

That sounds like a really boring title, but the truth is… the question my friends ask most is “How do you take care of your skin” and the truth is, my skin is probably the only thing I actually take care of. I am militant about it. so I thought why not share with you my routine.

makeup removal – If you wear make up, I recommend Garnier Micellar Water. It REALLY gets everything. I’ve washed my face with soap and water and then after, I’d pass a cotton swab soaked with Micellar Water, and it gets things that I’ve missed with soap and water, I’m amazed by it. It’s the real deal. It does a great job of getting that stubborn eye make up. (eyeliner and mascara)

washing your face -washing your face is very important. Now of course everyone has different skin, so the kind of ingredients you need are specific to your needs. For face wash I mainly use a couple of drops of Dr. Bronners Castile soap.

exfoliate – not all exfoliants are made equal. I use St. Ives Apricot scrub from the jar. (the tube is not the same) this is one of the products that I now know, I cannot live without. If I learned they were discontinuing this product I’d do my best to hoard a lifetime supply of it (I’ve obviously put a lot of thought into this) (since they’re discussing the ban on micro-beads exfoliants) (microbead exfoliants are WACK) St. Ives apricot scrub does not contain micro-beads. This product also contains salicylic acid, which treats acne. It’s recommended that you exfoliate 3 times a week, but I use this product every day.

astringent – so, I have oily skin. recently I’ve bought an astringent and it’s worked like a charm. It has shrunk my pores and done a great job at the oil control. I use it once a day on clean dry skin. The directions say to swab some on with a cotton ball, I spray it on. I only use this once a day because it could potentially dry my skin. If you don’t have oily skin, you can skip this.

moisterize – sunscreen. Sunscreen is your best friend. All those expensive moisturisers have sunscreen. You can get a great moisturiser for about 12$ now, sunscreen can have ingredients that can clog your pores, so it’s important that you buy a sunscreen that is non-comedogenic (this means, it will not clog your pores) it’s a good idea to make sure your make up is already non comedogenic.

purge – I have oily skin, I hate Blackheads and I try to purge my pores at least once a week. I do that by steaming my face or washing my face with very warm water; and while my pores are open I VERY CAREFULLY purge with a blackhead extractor tool. These are sold in pharmacies, or in Ulta, or Sephora. This tool is amazing, and I’d put it down in my list of top 20 inventions that have changed the game and my life. After this, I pat a cold towel on my face to close the pores. You can spray astringent after this as well. It’s important to keep the tools clean.

tone – I use toner at least 3 times a week, this is great if you have uneven skin tone and it also has vitamins and minerals for your skin.

night cream – it’s never to early to start using night cream. The skin around your eyes is the most delicate. Give this part of your face the most attention.

 consistency – I do this every day; every week; every month; every year; and I have been doing this since I was 13. never go to bed without washing and moisturising your face; no matter how late it is or how tired you are. also, brush your teeth and floss, that’s important too.

please comment any questions you may have and feel free to share your daily skincare routines as well.

Well, I think I’ve covered it all for now. I’ll write about butt acne (nay) this week (yay)

always ML

 

Leave a Reply

